Process for obtaining Australian Permanent Residence in 2022

Yogesh shukla

What is the Australian Skilled Migration Program, and how does it operate?

The Australian Skilled Migration Program offers two routes:

Work permit for Australia

This route, also known as sponsorship visas, necessitates that you obtain a job offer in Australia for a position that is pertinent to your history before you can apply for a visa.

Under this stream, there are two temporary visas available:

  • Temporary Skill Shortage Visa (Subclass 482)
  • Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional Visa (Provisional) (Subclass 494)

Moreover, one permanent visa

  • Permanent Visa for Employers (Subclass 186) 

Visas for General Skilled Migration

The General Skilled Migration Visas, often known as the "points tested visas," are frequently mentioned when discussing skilled migration in Australia. Three visas are also included in this program:

The ones that remain are:

And the short-term:

The General Skilled Migration Program offers six steps to getting permanent residency in Australia by 2022.

Step 1: Check your eligibility

You must first determine which occupation, as defined by Australian Immigration, you fit under and which list this occupation is on. Make sure your profession is included on the list that corresponds to the visa for which you intend to apply because there are various lists for each of the aforementioned visas.

You cannot apply for a General Skilled Migration Visa if your profession is not listed on any of the lists for the three visas.

Step 2: Skills Assessment

Finding out if you would receive a favorable Skills Assessment from the agency that evaluates your occupation—also referred to as your "career validation or recognition"—is the second stage in obtaining PR in Australia

There is a separate Skills Assessment Authority for each occupation. For instance:

  • Engineers – Engineers Australia
  • IT Professionals – Australian Computer Society
  • Nurses – Australian Nursing & Midwifery Accreditation Council 
  • Marketing professionals – VETASSESS
  • And many others

Additionally, each Authority has its own standards for approving your skills evaluation, such as a specific level of English proficiency, job experience, and qualifications. Therefore, it is essential that you get familiar with the requirements of the skills assessment authority for your industry before you even begin to think about applying for a visa and investing time and money in this endeavor.

Step 3: Point Test

Because the three skilled migration visas we mentioned (189, 190, and 491) are point-tested visas, you will have to satisfy certain requirements and accrue points for each category. The Department of Home Affairs can use this method to identify candidates who possess the qualities and talents they are seeking and to make a decision.

In order to file an Expression of Interest for one of those three visas, you must have a minimum of 65 points.

The points are distributed among the following groups:Age: 0 to 30 points, minimum age of 18, and maximum age of 45.

Academic Qualifications: Depending on whether the applicant holds a technical certificate or diploma, a Bachelor's or Master's degree, or a Ph.D., they could receive 0 to 20 points.

Work Experience: 0 to 20 points, depending on the number of years of experience, whether the experience pertains to the migration-related profession, and whether the experience was gained in Australia or another country.

English proficiency: In order to receive points for this category, all candidates must take an English exam and receive a minimum score. According to the results of the English exam, points are assigned from 0 to 20.

Study in Australia: You will receive 5 points if you spent at least two years studying there and graduated with a diploma or trade certificate, at the very least.

Skilled Occupation List - Australian Skilled Migration

Study in Low Population Areas of Australia: If you completed your studies in one of the government-designated Designated Regional Areas of Australia, you will receive an additional 5 or 10 points.

  • Accreditation in Australia as a foreign language translator: 5 points
  • Skilled Spouse: 5 to 10 points if the applicant's spouse holds a skilled vocation and/or speaks English at a minimum competency level, which can be demonstrated in a variety of ways.
  • Applicants who are single should receive 10 points to avoid being penalized.
  • Years in the Profession: 5 Points

Nomination/Sponsorship by an Australian State: 5 or 15 points, depending on the profession of the candidate, whether a state or territory is looking for that profession, and whether a temporary or permanent visa is being sought.

Step 4: English Proficiency

Anyone applying for one of these visas and seeking permanent residency in Australia must provide proof that they have at least competent English, which equals six on each exam component. By taking an English test, you can accomplish that. IELTS, Cambridge, TOEFL, and PTE are accepted by Australian immigration. You won't need to take a test if you are from the UK, US, Canada, Ireland, or New Zealand because it is assumed that you have Competent English in those countries.

Increasing your English score will help you reach the minimum 65 points necessary to be invited by SkillSelect: For an IELTS score of 7, you will receive 10 points; for an IELTS score of 8, 20 points.

Step 5: Expression of Interest

You cannot simply apply for a visa in Australia, even if you are eligible. Be it an Independent 189 visa, a regional 190 visa, or a 491 visa - which will cover states and territories as well - you must first be invited by the government.

You can apply to be invited by submitting an expression of interest through the SkillSelect system, which chooses applicants based on their performance on a points test. Due to the intense competition, you may want to aim for a score higher than the required minimum of 65 if you're applying for an 189 visa.

Step 6: Application for a Visa

Making and submitting a visa application is the next stage in obtaining a permanent visa for Australia after receiving an invitation from SkillSelect. The moment to back up anything you said throughout the points test stage and Expression of Interest is at that point.

Also read:

Australia Immigration 2022 expected to rise by 2023

The programs for skilled and business migration for 2022–23 are now open




Book your consultation