• Thu, Feb 17 2022
  • 58

Welcoming Communities designated by two additional local governments.

The Queenstown Lakes and Central Otago District Councils have achieved an important milestone in the Welcoming Communities project, according to Immigration New Zealand (INZ).

Both the councils and the areas in which they are located have been formally recognised as Committed Welcoming Communities.

Get free New Zealand assessment form

The certificate acknowledges that newcomers are valued in the communities. They are dedicated to creating communities that are inviting and inclusive. It also recognises that they have taken proactive initiatives to establish an atmosphere in which all residents may thrive and feel like they belong.

Members of Welcoming Communities

The Queenstown Lakes and Central Otago District Councils join nine other program participants who have gained certification via the program's four stages: committed, established, advanced, and excelling.

Tauranga City Council

Western Bay of Plenty District Council

Palmerston North City Council

Ashburton District Council

Gore District Council

Invercargill City Council

Southland District Council

Whanganui District Council

Selwyn District Council

What is a welcoming community?

Welcoming Communities recognises that welcoming newcomers and allowing them to fully engage in society and the local economy makes communities healthier, happier, and more productive.

The welcome communities program brings local government councils and communities together to make the places we love more welcoming to all.