aptechvisa logo

Schengen Visa is Your Pathway to Travel to as Many as 26 Countries
Home Denmark Immigration Schengen Visa

Schengen Migration

With the coming up of Schengen agreement, traveling to European countries has been made easier. A Schengen visa is the document issued by the appropriate establishments to the applicant for visiting/travelling to and within the Schengen area.

The Schengen area covers 26 countries that have agreed to allow free movement of their citizens within this area as a single country. Out of the 26 countries, 24 countries are a part of the EU (European Union) and other 4 are part of EFTA (European Free Trade Association).
Check your Eligibility

What is Schengen Agreement

The concept of free movement between the European Countries is a very longstanding. France and Germany are the two countries which took a pioneer step to initialize free movement between the European countries. On 17 June, 1984, these two countries bring out the framework in front of the European Council in Fontainebleau where they all approved to define required conditions for the free movement of citizens.

Therefore, Schengen agreement is an agreement which covers the gradual abolishing of the internal borders between the countries and an extended control of the external borders.

What All Areas Schengen Area Covers

Schengen area covers the majority of European countries, except for the United Kingdom and Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Ireland. However, the countries like Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and Lichtenstein are not a part of EU but still enjoy the free movement policy. The members of Schengen agreement are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein
Free Assessment Form

Who Require a Schengen Visa

Schengen visa is required by the citizens of those countries who are not a member of the Schengen Agreement and thus are requested a mandatory Schengen visa in order to enter the Schengen zone. However, there are exceptions to this rule, some countries who are not a part of the Schengen agreement yet, can still enter the Schengen zone without having a Schengen visa.

What Are The Types of Schengen Visa?

There are different types of Schengen Visa depending upon the nature of the travel which is issued by the designated embassy/consulate

  • Uniform Schengen Visa: This visa permits one of the Schengen area member countries to transit or reside in the desired territory for a certain period of time up to the maximum of 90 days starting from the day of entry.
  • Limited Territorial Validity Visas (LTV): This visa allows you to travel only in the Schengen State that has issued the visa or in some other cases, the areas for which you have specifically mentioned when applying for the visa.
  • National Visas: The national visa is granted to those certain applicants who are to be studying, working or permanently residing in of the Schengen countries. This visa is for a single entry purpose after which the applicant shall return to their country or is granted for a certain period of time who are genuinely in the need of residing in the Schengen country.

What Are The Visa Application Requirements For The Schengen Visa?

In order to apply for the Schengen Visa for one or more countries, one needs to apply for a Schengen visa at a designated embassy/consulate.

There are some requirements which an applicant has to institute prior to the application. If you are thinking to travel to more than one Schengen country then it’s better to apply at the Embassy/Consulate of the country where you will be staying the most.

Every Schengen country has more or less the same visa requirements in issuing a visa to the applicant. However, a minute difference here and there, depending upon embassy/consulate, documents of the main applicant, and your current economic status. A unified requirement list to apply for the Schengen Visa is listed below:

  • Fully completed visa application form
  • One recent passport size photograph
  • Your current passport as well as the copies of your visa, valid for at least 3 months prior to your departure
  • The passport must have at least 2 blank pages
  • The proof of your reservation or itinerary with dates and flight numbers specifying entry and exit from the Schengen area.
  • Your travel and health insurance policies
  • Proof of accommodation
  • Proof of sufficient funds for sustaining yourself in the Schengen country
  • Apart from these above mentioned requirements, there are few additional documents required by the embassy/consulate for a minor:
  • Birth’s certificate
  • The application form signed by both the parents
  • If a child is in custody of one parent, the family court order has to be attached
  • Certified copies of ID/passport of both parents
  • If a minor is traveling alone, the notarized parental authorization signed by both the parents is required
Get Your Visa Enquiry

Schengen Visa Fee Structure:

The Schengen Visa fee is a non-refundable mandatory visa fee. The visa cost may vary depending on the type of visa and age of applicant as well as some other exceptions.

The general visa fee for Schengen visa is as follows:

  • Airport transit visa- 60.00 EUR
  • Short stay visa, less than 90 days- 60.00 EUR
  • Long stay visa, more than 90 days- 99.00 EUR

How to apply for the Schengen Visa?

Schengen visa is your pathway to travel to as many as 26 countries. Hence, you need an experienced consultant to apply for your Schengen Visa. Some steps might be complicated which may result in the cancellation or rejection of your Schengen Visa. You can associate yourself with Aptech Global for your Schengen Visa process, as we provide 100 percent transparent and accurate services.